From the Sidelines: Five Questions with Eoin O’Shea

Local improviser (ComedySportz, Tongue & Groove) and all around fun guy Eoin O’Shea and his wife Anne Marie have just welcomed a beautiful little girl into their family. In celebration of all things O’Shea, we dig down into the archives to present a special From the Sidelines
What is your approach to improv?

My approach is to “jump in”. I mean to say that I don’t want to think about it. I trust myself to listen and to build on what’s given. I also trust whoever is on stage; you have to.

Is there anything in particular that you find informs or inspires your scenework?

Depends on what show I am doing, but I try to use what I see and hear everyday. I like to observe people and use them. I have a long list of beings that dwell within me. I don’t know if that’s good or bad, but I use them for stage. Mood will always inform me.

Are there any pre-show warmups or rituals that you do?

I try to relax. I try to clear my thoughts and allow myself to just be open. Wow, I should study Kung-Fu or something. The best thing is to breathe and be present. That works good for life too, but I can only do it on stage. Which is why I love to be on stage.

What is something that’s proven to be a significant challenge in improving your work?

Getting over myself is the biggest challenge. Simply put, I ain’t all that and I should work harder.

What advice would you give to those who are new to improv?

If you are having FUN, then you are on the right path. Be brave, you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

