Comedian Profile: Ralph Andracchio

Editors Note: In this segment, we step away from the stage and take a look at comedians in the Philadelphia area… Learn a little more about where they come from, what they do while not performing and of course the question we all ask ourselves… Why do we do it?

RALPH ANDRACCHIO

Might have seen him in: King Friday, WALT!, Pasiones de Pasiones (2010 Troika Champion)

Hangs his hat in: South Philly

Stomping Grounds: Philadelphia, PA

Pays the Bills as: Tech Support / Customer Service for an international non-profit

Other Hobbies: Painting, graphic design, video games

Why Improv?

I used to be the biggest spaz in Spazville.  All through grade school and high school, I was so painfully uncool.  I had a face full of acne, gangly limbs, and absolutely no social grace.  The only thing I really knew how to do was make people laugh.  I also enjoyed performing, but had the worst stage fright ever.  Any time I had to talk in front of people, I would turn into a jabbering mess.  So, after finally growing into a semi-well adjusted adult, I thought I’d challenge myself and bought a Level 1 class spot as a birthday present a few years back.

Improv has really helped me overcome a lot of the hang-ups I had speaking to people, especially if I have to get up in front of them.  It’s also sharpened my mind and given me a new level of confidence I never knew I could have.  And now that I’m a part of it, I find that the community is so diverse and filled with people from every point on the human spectrum.  We all got into improv for our own different reasons, but in the end, we all work towards the same goals.  I get more excited every day to learn more and put what I’ve learned into action onstage.  I can honestly say that becoming an improviser was one of the best things to ever happen to me, and I’m happier than I’ve ever been because of it.

If you know someone who you think should be profiled, we’d love to hear about them.

Leave a Reply

