Comedian Profile: Andy Moskowitz

Editors Note: In this segment, we step away from the stage and take a look at comedians in the Philadelphia area… Learn a little more about where they come from, what they do while not performing and of course the question we all ask ourselves… Why do we do it?

ANDY MOSKOWITZ

Might have seen him in: Fletcher, ComedySportz, Pasiónes de Pasiónes

Hangs his hat in: Fairmount

Stomping Grounds: Ardmore, PA

Pays the Bills as: Medical Copywriter

Other Hobbies: Film and film criticism, running, card tricks

Why Improv?

When I was a kid, I hated waiting for stuff. Crowded restaurants, amusement park lines — even the mail — were all torture for my impatient 8-year-old psyche. Hannukah was especially difficult, because the best presents were reserved for the final night. I had to endure seven nights of wax lips & gelt before I got the big one. And every year, my mom would tell me I had to learn to “delay gratification.”
Twenty years later, I’m still a kid and I still hate waiting. Improv is the instant gratification artform. You’re on stage, you get an idea, you spit it out, and the rewards are instantaneous. Improv is the last night of Hannukah. Or a VIP pass to Disney Land. Or the table reserved for the mafia at Buca di Beppo, even on a busy Friday night. See where I’m going with this?

See Andy in these upcoming Fringe Festival shows

Fletcher
9/3, 9/7 & 9/15 @ 8:30PM | 9/10 @ 11:30PM | 9/12 @ 5PM

Pasiónes de Pasiónes
9/5 @ 8:30PM | 9/10 & 9/18 @ 7PM

If you know someone who you think should be profiled, we’d love to hear about them.

Leave a Reply

